Thranduil's mighty crown?

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby under the gaze of the Lidless Eye...

Thranduil's mighty crown?

Postby Siegrend » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:02 pm

I was curious how the tournament folks are dealing with Thranduils Circlet of Kings which allows him to cast Aura of Dismay and Nature's Wrath once per game "automatically" and without expending Will. That all makes sense until as the evil player you are attempting to resist that nasty Nature's Wrath spell. Since Thranduil didn't roll a die, there is no "value" on which to roll against. So...is this an irresistible spell then? That's downright brutal if this is truly how GW meant this to be. Again, curious how this was being handled among the tournament groups and/or friendly games.

Also, was Gandalf the White supposed to lose his White Rider ability, giving him a 12" Stand Fast?

Thanks for your advice/consultation time.
Even the very wise cannot see all ends...
User avatar
Siegrend
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Bloomingdale/Downer's Grove

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

Postby EricA » Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:27 am

That is a very good question. The way we played it was that was that we looked at the other models that could cast the spells and basically used that for what the spell went off for. So natures wrath was a 4 and aura of dismay was a 5. However they could have truly meant it not to be able to be resisted, it just doesnt say cannot be resisted in the description. Hence the trouble.
Eric Adams
EricA
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Gainesville, FL

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

Postby knight of Gondor » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:33 am

Another point is that you could consider that you need to roll a 6 because a 6 will always succeed when resisting magic.
From the darkness a fire shall be woken
A light from the shadow shall spring
Renewed shall blade that was broken
The crownless again shall be king
knight of Gondor
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:20 pm
Location: Mankato, MN

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

Postby Siegrend » Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:36 pm

Both valid possibilities, and my initial thought was to assume a 6 was rolled to cast the spell, meaning a six would be needed to resist. However, when you are playing against someone who goes by what the books say, (and the books say nothing about these options) then there are no rules on how to resist. If the tournament community had made a ruling on it, then I would have some back-up as to how to deal with it.

Thanks for the replies!
Even the very wise cannot see all ends...
User avatar
Siegrend
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Bloomingdale/Downer's Grove


Return to Rules Discussions (LotR)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron