Thread Necro Alert:
I somehow missed this topic way back, but thought I'd chime in now since it may apply to the Indy GT FAQ.
This is not a new discussion. As Tim Hixon points out, this was all rehashed well back on TLA forums with people who were part of the playtesters among others. Indeed, that discussion also included the issue of whether the hero had to move first (given the rule language of other figures moving "at the same time"). I agreed with the interpretation Tim H came up with and that Gary L supports above, for the same reason. While it is overly restrictive, it is the only interpretation that gives full meaning to the language of the rule, and rule language is always the first and foremost key to interpretation.
A few summary comments:
DrunkenSamurai wrote:Gartl wrote:"and all friends within 6"/14cm will move at the same time."
Once again this intrepratation ignores a very clear section of the rule, ""and all friends within 6"/14cm will move at the same time.". This does not state that friendly models "may" move, it states that they "will" move.
The word 'will' is not the key part of this rule. The key part is 'at the same time' which reinfoces the need for everyone who is participating in the Heroic move to move before any other actions take place. So in the case of multiple HM you would move all the models for one hero before the models for another HM. I do not see this as a requirement for all models within 6" of a hero being requires to move.
All parts of a rule are the "key" parts of the rule. "Will" means must. It is "mandatory" language. It doesn't support a "take your pick" kind of interpretation.
jlong05 wrote:What if I have several Heroes within 6" of each otehr where their heroic moves could impact the same models. Does the first Hero counter all possibles from the second hero since the first hero calling With me would force all to move with him, even though I wanted to move some with each hero separately? Such as counters to my opponents heroic move?
In the case of overlapping heroics, models are still complying with the rule so long as they follow it with respect to the hero they are moving with. I would move everyone with the first hero that was eligible to move with him anyway as the proper interpretation. As a tactical matter, it doesn't make much sense to call multiple heroics unless
some of the models will end up outside of 6 inches from the first moving hero, and these figures would have to move with the second hero.
2. Tim K is correct that the ORB language changed slightly from the ROTK rulebook. However, the language about moving the hero first is a tactical comment - it reflects that if the hero is first charged by another model, the heroic move is lost. Indeed, that comments supports the exact opposite interpretation. Of course we have decided that as a matter of FAQ the hero will move first in a heroic (or at least "execute" first even if that means not moving). We looked at that language way back and concluded it didn't really lead to any clarification, especially since it was dropped by the designers (who generally copied language verbatim when no change was intended).
Smeagol wrote:I don't have a copy of that set of House Rules in my collection of LOTR FAQs. I think Frank does as I think that was the year he attended the LOTR UK GT.
I've been through about three computers since then but am trying to dig up the 2008 house rule document.