Page 1 of 1

Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 8:49 pm
by Generalissimo_Fred
Infiltrate says a "unit that deploys using these rules cannot charge in the first turn."

Page 9 defines turn and says "whenever a rule refers to 'a turn' it always means 'player turn' unless it specifically refers to a 'game turn'.

We then read the infiltrate rules to say - a unit that deploys using these rules cannot charge in the first 'player turn.'

Infiltrators cannot charge in the top of turn 1 , but they can charge in the bottom of turn 1. An advantage for going second to help mitigate the first blood objective possibly.

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:26 am
by RAMSEY
First loophole found.

I can believe that they meant first game turn but will need a ruiling from judges at tournaments.

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:32 am
by CmdrVimes
I thought reserves can't come in first turn? Did I miss a change?

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:46 am
by Generalissimo_Fred
CmdrVimes wrote:I thought reserves can't come in first turn? Did I miss a change?


Drop pod and daemon reserves come in first turn, but I was talking about infiltrating units and not reserves. You still can't assault coming out of reserves unless you are a Ymgarl Genestealers or a Vanguard Veteran as their codex rules supersede the main rule book.

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:49 am
by Generalissimo_Fred
RAMSEY wrote:First loophole found.

I can believe that they meant first game turn but will need a ruiling from judges at tournaments.



Is it a loophole or the correct reading of the rule. Consider this scenario:

I'm going 2nd and I infiltrate my Genestealers 18" away from your units. On the top of turn 1, your first turn, you move a tactical squad up 6" and run a further 6" right at my Infiltrating Genestealers. If the rule said no infiltrates can assault on their first turn, then on the bottom of turn 1 I couldn't assault your tactical squad which just moved up to me.

I think the rule is in place to prevent a unit from assaulting before the enemy gets a chance to react. As long as the Infiltrating Genestealers are going 2nd, the enemy has a turn to react to them before they try to assault, hence why infiltrating units can assault on turn 1 if they go second in the game.

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 12:32 pm
by n00bzilla99
Right, because you could get that first turn charge off possibly with the ability to charge 12" now, especially if you have a unit that moves more than 6" during regular movement. Now, the first turn charge only comes in the bottom of Turn 1 because both players have had a chance to move and react to that possible first turn charge, so if you get charged in the bottom of 1, consider it your fault for letting it happen! :P

Re: Assaulting 1st turn

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:20 pm
by Turtle
agreed, if you go second you get to charge. It works just like that in fantasy too with scouts and vanguard. They use pretty much the same wording too.