Beating Abaddon

Do you know the best way to beat that unbeatable 40k army? Well post it here and share the knowledge.

Beating Abaddon

Postby BrentS » Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:42 pm

I'm still very new to 40K so every time I'm play a game (or in this case help my son and his friend play a game), I wonder if we are doing things correctly. In two games where my son's Chaos SM army has faced off against his friends Space Marine army the games have concluded with Abaddon just laying waste to anything on the board. It seems that the combination of the Demon weapon plus the base attacks and the invul save he can pretty much just steamroll anything the Space Marines throw at him. The only wound he's incurred was in the last game where he failed an invul save from a Lascannon shot. So help out a newbie, what advice can I give the Space Marine player in trying to corral Abaddon.

The typical points games they've been playing are between 1000-1500. As you could expect from 12 year olds, they are infatuated by the big heroes, the elites, and the heavies. My son typically uses Khorne Bezerkers and Plague Marines as his troop choices (sometimes with a third smaller group of generic CSM). The Space Marine player is light on troops (two squads of 10 often times split into 4 combat squads). He recenltly upgraded his SM Captain and added a Command Squad.
BrentS

Postby LongFang » Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:24 pm

Last time I played against Abbadon, I had the fortune of a dominion squad of sisters (4 melta guns) and a vindicator. The vindi took out the bodyguards, while the sisters finished him off nicely (and then proceeded to do the same to Typhus). I would recommend a devastator squad, and just have them concentrate on him. 1 or 2 rounds should be enough to drop him. It's a lot of points to throw at one model, but...
LongFang

Postby Redbeard » Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:44 pm