Page 1 of 2

40k Questions

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:55 pm
by seahawk
In the drafts for the 40k Championships, Exterminatus, Highlander, and Team Tournament, there is exists terminology that Apocalypse War Zone supplements cannot be used.

Even though the War Zone: Armageddon is part of the main Apocalypse rulebook, you meant to ban that too, yes? That means nobody can take Reavers, Warhounds, etc. It is a War Zone supplement, after all.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:33 pm
by Rhysk
Seahawk,

With the exception of the exterminatus, the Warhound and Reaver do not meet the event level restrictions for LoW. They are intended to be allowed in Exterminatus. We'll get an updated version out there to address.

Regards,

Chris

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 4:17 pm
by seahawk
Cool!

So, disregarding the point size limits, will you unban everything or just armageddon? Out of curiosity, why/why not? Can't be much worse in the other books.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2014 5:14 pm
by Rhysk
Most of the apocalypse formations reference rules that are only available in Appocalypse such as vehicle formations, psychic choirs ect. These rules are not supported in the main 40k rules, for this reason the Appoc formations are not allowed.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2014 10:24 am
by seahawk
Well obviously formations are not kosher in a non-Apoc game; I was wondering more on just individual units that can be found sprinkled in the books (if there are any).

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:44 pm
by Rhysk
Beyond the Imperial Reaver and Warhound what unit where you thinking about?

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:12 pm
by seahawk
Damnos has the Necron Pylon, Damocles has the Obsidian Knight, Pandorax has the Great Brass Scorpion, Tower of Skulls, Plaguereaper, Traitor's Bane, and Marauder Bomber.

Some people might want to use those. ;)

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:06 pm
by Nurglecron
Are Forgeworld Space Marine chapters considered usable for this tournament? The rules say that Forgeworld Army Lists are not allowed, but I was unclear as to how Chapter Tactics fit in there.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 4:55 pm
by Rhysk
This was recently updated to the rules for most of the 40K tournaments:

• Codices, Codex Supplements and Warhammer 40K Campaign Supplements that are released prior to February 19th,
2015 will be allowed in this event. Apocalypse War Zone supplements, Apocalypse Formations, Forge World army lists
and material from the Horus Heresy books WILL NOT be allowed in this event.

• Imperial Armour units (Forge World) are allowed in this event and are considered to be part of the relevant Codex or
faction, however due to the scarce nature of these units; each unit is considered unique (0-1) and may only be taken
once per player. In ALL cases, only the most currently published rules for any particular unit will be allowed. A
complete list of allowable units and rules locations can be found in the AdeptiCon 2015 Warhammer 40K Approved
Imperial Armour Units document. Note, some of the allowable units draw their most recent rules from the
Apocalypse rulebook, these are noted exceptions to the general exclusion of the book.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:00 pm
by Rhysk
Nurglecron wrote:Are Forgeworld Space Marine chapters considered usable for this tournament? The rules say that Forgeworld Army Lists are not allowed, but I was unclear as to how Chapter Tactics fit in there.


If the tournament allows FW units, then the FW Chapter tactics are allowed.

Regards,

Chris

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:47 pm
by yakface
seahawk wrote:Damnos has the Necron Pylon, Damocles has the Obsidian Knight, Pandorax has the Great Brass Scorpion, Tower of Skulls, Plaguereaper, Traitor's Bane, and Marauder Bomber.

Some people might want to use those. ;)



You probably want to check out the list of where the accepted rules for each unit are found:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub ... utput=html


Because in some cases, some of the units you've listed above have since had newer rules published by Forgeworld, such as the Marauder Bomber & the Necron Pylon (the latest IA Apocalypse) and the Great Brass Scorpion (IA13).

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2015 12:51 am
by seahawk
Wow, that's awesome, thanks! Still, it does mean that some units are unavailable.

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:13 am
by Rhysk
Seahawk,

Please search the IA units index and let me know if there is anything we missed.

Regards,

Chris

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:09 pm
by seahawk
- Necron Pylon's rules were out in August for IAA, September for Warzone: Damnos, so the Warzone is most recent. 420 vs 515 points is quite a difference!
- The Marauder Bomber's rules were out in August for IAA, November for Warzone: Pandorax, so the Warzone is most recent. It received a massive nerf (and slight points drop).
- Obsidian Knight, Tower of Skulls, Plaguereaper, and Traitor's Bane are still Warzones, which you caught.

Note, some of the allowable units draw their most recent rules from the
Apocalypse rulebook, these are noted exceptions to the general exclusion of the book.

Would this then mean that those from the Warzone books are allowed?

Re: 40k Questions

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:22 pm
by yakface
seahawk wrote:- Necron Pylon's rules were out in August for IAA, September for Warzone: Damnos, so the Warzone is most recent. 420 vs 515 points is quite a difference!
- The Marauder Bomber's rules were out in August for IAA, November for Warzone: Pandorax, so the Warzone is most recent. It received a massive nerf (and slight points drop).
- Obsidian Knight, Tower of Skulls, Plaguereaper, and Traitor's Bane are still Warzones, which you caught.

Note, some of the allowable units draw their most recent rules from the
Apocalypse rulebook, these are noted exceptions to the general exclusion of the book.

Would this then mean that those from the Warzone books are allowed?


Sorry, I was a bit off on those two (the Marauder & Pylon). In those cases, there was clearly some sort of disconnect between the GW main studio & Forgeworld, as those two sets of rules came out within a couple months and are totally different, as you point out. We made the judgement call and decided that in this particular case, the rules in the Apocalypse book are for Apocalypse games, and the ones from Forgeworld are what we are going to use in tournaments as the 'standard 40k' rules for those units.

So for both the Marauder and the Pylon, we are sticking with Imperial Armour Apocalypse (v2013).

And yes, I believe the point Chris is trying to get across is that you are allowed to take single units from the Apocalypse books (including the Warzone books) as long as they are listed on that IA unit index page, and don't break any of the other particular event rules. You are just not allowed to take any of the Apocalypse formations that encompass more than one unit.