Basing question for Bolt Action

All things Bolt Action!

Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby prion2001 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:15 pm

Seems that my local gaming group is moving towards Bolt Action which is a good excuse for ME to start a force.

My question is about basing for multi-model units. For my Germans, this would be the LMG team with 3 figs, the light mortar with 2 figs, the LMG in the infantry squad (2 figs I think) and the sniper team with 2 figs. Are these based on a larger base? If you lose models from the unit and it affects the firing of the weapon, do you base them separate so you can remove models or do you simply indicate damage with some sort of marker.

Another question while I'm posting about the game. Are tanks and other armoured vehicles necessary or can an all infantry force with anti-tank grenades and weapons do ok?

Jamie
"It is a strange fate that we should suffer so much fear and doubt over so small a thing." Boromir
Check out my painting blog at http://www.fivearmies.blogspot.com
Shop Gorgon Studios. http://www.gorgon-studios.com
User avatar
prion2001
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:03 pm
Location: Tinley Park, IL

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby Lordgoober » Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:08 am

I'm doing my Mortars and Medium Machine Gun teams on 60mm rounds and will use "casualty caps" if they take hits. On the in squad LMGs, it all depends on what the source for them is. For my Perry Desert Rats and Deutche Afrika Korps, the prone LMG teams and AT Rifle teams I am doing 2 to a base. Walking guys I base singly.
Lordgoober
 
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:47 pm

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby BostonNazgul » Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:04 am

the sniper team should be separate as 1 is the spotter model
User avatar
BostonNazgul
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby tjski » Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:24 am

Jamie,

My MMG team and mortars are based on a 60mm base, as I loose guys I just add kill rings to the base. As for sniper teams or any other two man team, I just mount on a1" round.

As for all infantry based games, you can do that. My American paras are all infantry, the only thing I have is a 57mm anti tank gun and a 75mm howitzer, no tanks! You just need to be able to deal with tanks by taking bazookas or panzerfausts or some other anti tank capability.
Tim K
User avatar
tjski
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Phoenix AZ

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby prion2001 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:26 pm

Thanks guys. I was figuring the all infantry would need some anti-tank. Good to know I can start as all infantry until I can as a tank.

Jamie
"It is a strange fate that we should suffer so much fear and doubt over so small a thing." Boromir
Check out my painting blog at http://www.fivearmies.blogspot.com
Shop Gorgon Studios. http://www.gorgon-studios.com
User avatar
prion2001
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:03 pm
Location: Tinley Park, IL

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby Monty » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:36 pm

Sounds like I better pick up a Bolt Action book. :D
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Steger

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby Monty » Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:09 am

Sounds like I better pick up a Bolt Action book. :D
User avatar
Monty
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Steger

Re: Basing question for Bolt Action

Postby BrentS » Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:13 pm

Yep, all the cool kids are going to playing Bolt Action.


I've been debating on how I'm going to base some of my weapon teams. I may put magnets on each individual model so that it can be removed if its killed.
User avatar
BrentS
 
Posts: 6295
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:38 pm


Return to Bolt Action General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron