Page 1 of 1

rules questions

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:01 am
by allen
All, I have two questions:
1. If multiple fearless units lose combat let's say by three, does each unit have to take three armor saves or can the three wounds be allocated between the two units?

2. For dawn of war deployment, for the two troops, does their dedicated transport count as being part of the unit or is it separated? So would I get to deploy squad one with their transport and another unit on foot or do I just get to deploy one squad as one troops choice and the transport as another troops choice?

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:31 am
by Depayen
Question 1- Both units take the saves.

Question 2- Troops are a unit unto themselves
Transport is a unit unto itself
transport +1 plus troop +1 = 2 units

First senrio is correct for Dawn of War

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:08 am
by DragonBait
1. If each unit is fearless, then they each have to take 3 fearless saves.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:34 pm
by khornelord0129
A dedicated transport does not take up a force org slot so it does not count as a unit. The squad purchased it so it is part of the unit.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:05 pm
by seahawk
Incorrect. A dedicated transport is a unit, so it's a unit for deployment purposes. Very simple! Otherwise, one could argue an entire Imperial Guard platoon is a single unit for deployment purposes as it only takes up one FOC slot.

You'll find this rule in the missions section of the BRB, on the same pages as either the missions or deployments. (don't have it on me to give a pg #).

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:07 pm
by n00bzilla99
khornelord0129 wrote:A dedicated transport does not take up a force org slot so it does not count as a unit. The squad purchased it so it is part of the unit.


No. Please read page 92. Under the heading of "Multiple Unit Choices."

It says that while a Dedicated Transport may not take up a separate FOC slot, it and the unit it was bought for are two independent units. Therefore when deploying in Dawn of War, they are 2 units.

For further proof, read the example under the deployment heading for Dawn of War on page 93. It mentions deploying an HQ, and a Troops choice in their Dedicated transport counts as the HQ and 2 troops choices.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:39 pm
by khornelord0129
I stand corrected. Thanks