2011 40K Team Tournament Rules Draft

AdeptiCon 2011 will be held April 1st - 3rd, 2011 at the Westin Lombard Yorktown Center in Lombard, IL. Visit the AdeptiCon website (www.adepticon.org) and start planning today!

Postby Matthias » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:32 pm

Right - the force org works out to the exact same way it has always been. Floaters are built-in, but optional.

This way they are just graphically presented. We found the old, wordy way was a bit confusing for newer teams.
Real battles are fought in 6mm!
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby LordSeverus » Thu Sep 02, 2010 5:35 am

Man dont I feel stupid now. That makes much more sense.
LordSeverus
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:17 pm

Sorry confused

Postby TimSchmidt » Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:44 am

"* Team Member #1 may field up to one unit from the AdeptiCon 2011 Imperial Armor & Apocalypse Units rules. This unit may be chosen from any Force Organization slot and takes up the appropriate Force Organization slot as normal. In all cases, a maximum of one (1) IA/APOC unit may be taken per Team, even when the said unit does not take up a Force Organization slot (see below)."

Does this mean that team member 1 still gets a floater but only if its Imperial armor or Apocalpse units.

Or

Does it mean that member 1 gets a floater , that can be Imperial armour etc.

can the floater be another troop or HQ choice, or can it only be fast, heavy, elite?

Thanks
TimSchmidt
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 pm

Postby Matthias » Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:59 am

The intention is for Team Member #1 to replace one of there Force Org slots with a like slots from an IA source.

There is no floating selection for that Team Member. Like last year, only 3 Team Members have the option of taking an extra unit. This year, the 4th member (or Team Member #1 in the rules packet) is the only player with access to IA units:

Example:

Team Member #1
• 1 HQ
• 0-1 Elites
• 1-3 Troops
• 0-1 Fast
• 0-1 Heavy

If Team Member #1 wishes to field an IA Unit, he is still bound by the above Force Org, however, he may field one IA unit in any of those categories. That unit eats up the appropriate Force Org slot like normal. If the unit does not take up a Force Org slot, you can still take it in addition to the above Force Org, however that fulfills your one IA unit allotment.
Real battles are fought in 6mm!
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

no floater for player 1

Postby TimSchmidt » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:35 am

since these are draft, rules, could we look at giving player 1 the floater back?
TimSchmidt
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 pm

Postby Matthias » Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:22 am

There was always one player without a floater in the Team Tournament. The rules have roughly been the following for years:

Up to 3 Team Members on a Team are allowed to utilize one "floating" selection if they wish. This "floating" selection may be used for any category except HQ or Troops and MUST be from a different category than all of your other teammates. In other words, one Team Member may bring an additional Fast Attack choice in addition to the standard Team Tournament Force Organization restrictions (making it 0-2 possible), but no one else on that same Team may choose Fast Attack as a "floating" selection.


So that really hasn't changed. This year the 4 Team Member Force Orgs are just graphically represented and the one Team Member that traditionally wasn't allowed a floater is the only Team Member that can field IA units. That way every player has something unique.
Real battles are fought in 6mm!
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby Bubafett » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:59 pm

Alright I got a quick question to clarify something as well. So from what i can read from the rules is that as long as all 4 members are from the same faction, there is no limit on Special Characters correct? I know in the past it has been restricted to same codex armies so want to clarify this as my friends want to play Codex: Space marines and use some characters, while I want to take BA lol
Bubafett
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 6:14 pm

Postby Matthias » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:25 pm

@Bubafett - Correct. As long as your Team is comprised of all Imperial armies (Space Marine Variants, Imperial Guard, DH/WH) then each Team Member may field Special Characters. The only limitation is that your Team may not duplicate any single Special Character.
Real battles are fought in 6mm!
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Previous

Return to AdeptiCon 2011

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron