Larger bases?

The place to discuss all that was! Visit the AdeptiCon website (www.adepticon.org) for past coverage, event results and photos!

Larger bases?

Postby Prince_of_Swords » Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:24 am

Hi folks!

I checked the Adepticon Model policy, but didn’t see anything about models mounted on larger bases. A lot of folks mount Daemon Princes, Wraithlords, and other big stuff on 50mm or 60mm bases, when the models may have come with (and/or still come with!) smaller ones. The 5th ed rulebook says you can base larger with your opponent’s permission, but a lot of folks built & based these models during 4th. Is there an official Adepticon ruling that there are or are not okay? Or is it just down to the following ruling in the INAT FAQ?

“RB.03B.02 – Q: If a model is mounted on a scenic base and an opponent objects to it, what happens?
A: If an opponent objects to a scenic base, the model may still be used in the game. However during the game, to the best of both players’ abilities, the model must be treated as if it were based on a standard-sized, non-scenic Games Workshop base [clarification].”
"...for all their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad."
Prince_of_Swords
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:07 pm

Postby Thistle » Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:39 am

With the INAT FAQ being in effect for Adepticon that will be the ruling that will be upheld. So to answer your question you can use larger bases but your opponent may require you to measure as if it were on the currently provided GW base.
Thistle
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:20 pm

Postby Prince_of_Swords » Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:36 pm

Sounds good, thanks.
"...for all their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad."
Prince_of_Swords
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 10:07 pm

Postby Matthias » Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:35 pm

This is going to go back to the INAT FAQ that covers all of the 40K events at AdeptiCon:

RB.03B.01 – Q: When models are supplied with multiple differently sized bases, are players allowed to choose which base to mount them on?
A: Players must, to the best of their ability, mount models on the proper base size as dictated by the majority of Games Workshop hobby materials [clarification]. When in doubt, contact the tournament organizer for a ruling on a particular model.

RB.03B.02 – Q: If a model is mounted on a scenic base and an opponent objects to it, what happens?
A: If an opponent objects to a scenic base, the model may still be used in the game. However during the game, to the best of both players’ abilities, the model must be treated as if it were based on a standard-sized, non-scenic Games Workshop base [clarification].

Our goal is to alleviate as many points of contention as possible prior to a game actually starting - by no means are we trying to punish people over models.
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL


Return to AdeptiCon 2009

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron