Page 1 of 1

Thranduil's mighty crown?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:02 pm
by Siegrend
I was curious how the tournament folks are dealing with Thranduils Circlet of Kings which allows him to cast Aura of Dismay and Nature's Wrath once per game "automatically" and without expending Will. That all makes sense until as the evil player you are attempting to resist that nasty Nature's Wrath spell. Since Thranduil didn't roll a die, there is no "value" on which to roll against. So...is this an irresistible spell then? That's downright brutal if this is truly how GW meant this to be. Again, curious how this was being handled among the tournament groups and/or friendly games.

Also, was Gandalf the White supposed to lose his White Rider ability, giving him a 12" Stand Fast?

Thanks for your advice/consultation time.

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:27 am
by EricA
That is a very good question. The way we played it was that was that we looked at the other models that could cast the spells and basically used that for what the spell went off for. So natures wrath was a 4 and aura of dismay was a 5. However they could have truly meant it not to be able to be resisted, it just doesnt say cannot be resisted in the description. Hence the trouble.

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:33 am
by knight of Gondor
Another point is that you could consider that you need to roll a 6 because a 6 will always succeed when resisting magic.

Re: Thranduil's mighty crown?

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:36 pm
by Siegrend
Both valid possibilities, and my initial thought was to assume a 6 was rolled to cast the spell, meaning a six would be needed to resist. However, when you are playing against someone who goes by what the books say, (and the books say nothing about these options) then there are no rules on how to resist. If the tournament community had made a ruling on it, then I would have some back-up as to how to deal with it.

Thanks for the replies!