The problem with drums and syntax

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby under the gaze of the Lidless Eye...

The problem with drums and syntax

Postby Slave_To_Ungoliant » Tue May 17, 2011 11:26 am

Soooo, the various drums are confusing. What with Modor Uruk-hai vs Uruk-hai and what have ye. I'm sure this all stems from a crossed wire on seemingly harmless syntax that never got fixed. (you should have seen the Harad book before it went live)

This would be in regards to the ToS.

Q: Does the Orc Drummer affect the Black Guard? Or do those dudes only march to the beat of their special Black Guard Drummer?

They're listed as Uruk-hai, but not Mordor Uruk-hai. So RAW probably not - despite the fact that they come from, train, reside, take orders from, and guard...ummm...Mordor.
User avatar
Slave_To_Ungoliant
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:03 am
Location: P-dence Rhodie

Postby JLeong » Tue May 17, 2011 1:37 pm

Follow-up question:

Do white hand Uruk-hai (I'm thinking specifically scouts) benefit from the black guard drummer? his profile allows uruk-hai to move an extra 3," and Uruk scouts from isengard are in fact uruk-hai
User avatar
JLeong
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: North Barrington, IL and Valparaiso, IN

Postby Smeagol » Tue May 17, 2011 2:21 pm

Black Guard should be Mordor Uruk-Hai since they work for Mordor and not Isengard. But you are correct about the RAW issue.

Black Guard Drummers affect all Uruk-hai even the Isengard employee types. Again it's a RAW issue.


I believe there were UKGT house rulings on both of these questions. While not official FAQs, they do at least have access to the LOTR games design team.
User avatar
Smeagol
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:20 pm

Postby Slave_To_Ungoliant » Tue May 17, 2011 3:59 pm

Agh, this is such an obvious oversight.

Much like this oversight found in the legal bits towards the end of the ToS rules packet:

"These terms and conditions will be governed by the laws of England and Wales and subject to the exclusive jurisdiction for the English courts."

England's reach is vast!
User avatar
Slave_To_Ungoliant
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:03 am
Location: P-dence Rhodie

Postby BostonNazgul » Tue May 17, 2011 5:08 pm

no taxation without representation, go through their paint pots in boston harbor!
User avatar
BostonNazgul
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby Guardian of Ecthelion » Tue May 17, 2011 5:10 pm

BostonNazgul wrote:no taxation without representation, go through their paint pots in boston harbor!


Is "through" italian for "throw"?
User avatar
Guardian of Ecthelion
 
Posts: 877
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Postby BostonNazgul » Tue May 17, 2011 5:11 pm

syntax, i was relating it to the initial question haha
User avatar
BostonNazgul
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:18 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby Smeagol » Tue May 17, 2011 5:34 pm

And here I thought I had misread my history books. :P
User avatar
Smeagol
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:20 pm


Return to Rules Discussions (LotR)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron