Updated White Council (BoFA) and Allies

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby under the gaze of the Lidless Eye...

Updated White Council (BoFA) and Allies

Postby JLeong » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:31 pm

The updated White Council list under "war band special rules" says that a "White Council force may only include a single war band."
Simple question: Does that mean that the White Council cannot ally with other lists in an army?

i.e.: Can Galadriel, Lady of Light not ally as an individual character from the White Council with a Lothlorien army?
nor Elrond, Lord of the West with a Rivendell or House of Elrond army?

I would be extremely thankful if this were the case, simply to keep "Saruman the Wise" out of any army. Period. No matte how much I want to use fancy Elrond! :lol:
User avatar
JLeong
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 9:26 pm
Location: North Barrington, IL and Valparaiso, IN

Re: Updated White Council (BoFA) and Allies

Postby Smeagol » Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:47 pm

I hope not. I expect tjis one to get FAQ'd pretty quickly. I love the war adpect Galadriel, but I'd rather field the Lady of Light version as a Galadhrim ally.
User avatar
Smeagol
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: Updated White Council (BoFA) and Allies

Postby Smeagol » Sat Dec 13, 2014 3:19 pm

Having reread that section. It reads to me that you can only field one White Council warband. So you can ally with other forces because they are not explicitly banned from allying, but these heroes are all deployed as a single warband and cannot be split up and deployed seperately as multiple White Council warbands. This is a change from the original wording that allowed for multiple White Council warbands..
User avatar
Smeagol
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: Updated White Council (BoFA) and Allies

Postby jlong05 » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:19 am

Smeagol wrote:Having reread that section. It reads to me that you can only field one White Council warband. So you can ally with other forces because they are not explicitly banned from allying, but these heroes are all deployed as a single warband and cannot be split up and deployed seperately as multiple White Council warbands. This is a change from the original wording that allowed for multiple White Council warbands..

I am late to the party here, but this was my take on the rule wording as well.

Ally = Good
Multiple White Counsel Warbands = Bad.
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
User avatar
jlong05
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:02 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ (In a lead-lined fridge)


Return to Rules Discussions (LotR)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron