Page 1 of 1

2 rules questions

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:26 pm
by knitemare
1) If making a passing move and the pass fails, does the ball scatter from the thrower? Can you tell me the page in the LRB that it says that specifically?

2) When attempting to injure a player who has been blocked, the rule says you must "beat" the armor value on 2d6. That means you must get ABOVE the armor value correct? All other rules in the book, such as passing above, say "equals or beats" meaning that you have to get the number or higher.

I believe these are the only two rules I don't have full clarification on. Any help would be appreciated.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 10:52 pm
by Tyranid-Bugs
Hi knitemare.

#1 - Possibly: A failed pass will scatter 3 times (page LRB pg. 12) - however if the roll is a 1 (or less) after modfication - then it is considered a "fumble" and will scatter from the thrower's square (LRB pg. 22)

#2- You are correct that you must beat the AV of a player in order to break the armor and to roll the injury.
Example - you roll an 8 on a player with AV8 - it is a tie and he is not hurt, so he remains standing. Again, you are correct that in taking player actions, you usually need to tie or beat the roll (with modifications).

Feel free to check out our local BB group "CRUMBBL" at the Bunker. It is a great game and we are all about having fun playing. There is a member or two that hail from Aurora too.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:15 am
by knitemare
so a failed (not fumbled) pass scatters from the catchers square, even if it was the pass that failed and not the catch?

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 2:49 pm
by Tyranid-Bugs
Correct - an "inaccurate" pass that is not a fumble (fumble being a 1 or less after mod) will scatter 3 times from the intended square being thrown to.

If the pass is "accurate" (equal to or over on the passing chart after mods), then the catcher attempts to catch it. If he fails it will scatter 1 time from his square.

Hope this helps.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:13 pm
by knitemare
Definitely! Thank you very much!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:35 pm
by JonnyP
Tyranid-Bugs wrote:Correct - an "inaccurate" pass that is not a fumble (fumble being a 1 or less after mod) will scatter 3 times from the intended square being thrown to.


It's important to note these 3 scatters are just showing where the ball lands, it's not really bouncing 3 times.

So the ball WILL scatter an extra time after it finally lands after the 3 scatters.