Page 1 of 1

Vampire Counts

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 11:20 am
by Hero Jones
Hey, my group is new to the Fantasy thing, but we came across a hitch yesterday, and I figured to post it here.

If I remember correctly, he had a spellbook that he rolled a D3 to minus from his power pool. He then rolls to see what spell he gets. He rolled the spell from the Lore of Death that minus' 3 from the target's LD. Then in the following turn, he rolled the exact same thing. But in the remain in spells portion of the book, it says you can't use the same remain in play spell while the first one is in play.

So my question is: Is that spell wasted? Or does he get to roll on the table again. We played it where he got to re-roll. Any thoughts?

HJ

Re: Vampire Counts

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 11:17 am
by seahawk
Doom and Darkness is a Remains in Play spell.

Your options on playing it:

1. If it's out and you roll again, gentlemanly agree that the caster ends the old RIP spell immediately, then recasts it from the book.
2. The new one is wasted and can't be cast, as it's already in play on something.

In either case, he doesn't get a reroll whatsoever. He's stuck with that spell, and that's that.

Re: Vampire Counts

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 5:24 pm
by Hero Jones
Thats what I thought too, but he got whiney about it.

HJ

Re: Vampire Counts

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 8:07 pm
by seahawk
Just because someone gets whiney, it doesn't mean they can break the rules ;)