Page 1 of 1

CSM Warlord Trait question

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:27 pm
by moonshadow13
There is a warlord trait in the CSM Codex that grants D3 troops units infiltrate during setup/deployment. Now if you had a HQ attached (starting attached with unit) to that unit during this setup would he not also get the infiltrate rule and then he will lose if he ever leaves the unit?

It is not a ability they start with, but rather they get it during the start of a game. So would not it work then if you had a HQ unit attached to it? I had this issue during a game I played which it was ruled that it could be so I wanted to know AWC ruling on it incase it comes up during Adepticon.

Thanks for your input in advance :D

Re: CSM Warlord Trait question

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:30 am
by seahawk
Since you cannot join up before deployment, the character cannot join an infiltrating unit if he doesn't also have the Infiltrate USR.

Re: CSM Warlord Trait question

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:47 am
by 00Enron
I would elaborate on what Seahawk is referencing.

Some tournaments allow you to infiltrate with the character attached to the unit such as LVO, BAO, TOF.

What is this tournament allowing?

Re: CSM Warlord Trait question

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:08 am
by moonshadow13
When I get a chance I will post the exact wording. Reason being there is nothing to say you cant first attach the HQ to the unit first then give that unit infiltrate. I know how you all like the "word for word" as it is written in the codex so I will post that for better clarity. I will be asking the Adepticon judges for any tournament I am in this same question to get their ruling as well. I just wanted to see how my AWC friends would run it and how they interpret the warlord trait ability.

Once again thanks for your input in advance.

Re: CSM Warlord Trait question

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 12:48 pm
by seahawk
This is all the Adepticon FAQ has to say on it:

An Independent Character that has the Infiltrate 
special rule can join a unit that does not have 
Infiltrate during deployment allowing them all to 
infiltrate together.


In reference to Shrike, I'd imagine. Unfortunately chaos is the other way around! Better ask to make sure that's how they want it.