Team Question for adepticon team tournament

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

Team Question for adepticon team tournament

Postby Ckilleen » Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:32 pm

So the ork Kustom force field says that any unit can benefit from the save even enemy units. Does this mean that non Brothers in Arms codex's can benefit from that rule?
User avatar
Ckilleen
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:55 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Team Question for adepticon team tournament

Postby seahawk » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:48 pm

INAT FAQ wrote:Units in a Coalition from different codices DO NOT benefit from each other’s Wargear, Special Abilities, Leadership Values or transport capabilities.
Seems like a clear-cut "no" to me :D.

GW FAQ wrote: you cannot use or gain
the benefits from any of the wargear or special rules of
your opponent’s army, unless specifically stated in the
rule itself (‘friend or foe’) or in an official FAQ.
Same with this, no enemies get it either.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Re: Team Question for adepticon team tournament

Postby Matthias » Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:15 pm

Answered this year on the Dev Blog:

Can you explain how the Brothers in Arms, Wargear and Special Abilities work between players in a Coalition. For example: How does a Big Mek's Kustom Force field affect the other players on my Team if one is also Ork, but the other two are say Tyranids and Eldar? Can Acute Sense be used on an Eldar unit?

Brother is Arms is defined as: For the purposes of the AdeptiCon Warhammer 40K Team Tournament, units purchased from the EXACT SAME CODEX are considered ‘Brothers in Arms’.

The Team Tournament rules state: Special Abilities (other than alterations to the Force Organization) that would affect an entire 'army' or 'friendly units' may affect both Team Members of a 2-player Coalition if their forces are considered to be 'Brothers in Arms', but will not affect forces in the other Coalition on a different table. Example: Vulcan's special ability counting all Melta, Flamer, and Thunder hammers, as master crafted would apply to any Coalition units purchased from Codex Space Marine. It would not apply to the other two Team Members playing on a different table, or units purchased from any other codex.

So - to your example: If both Team Members playing Orks are in the same Coalition and on the same table, then the Big Mek's Kustom Force Field will affect your Ork teammate and provide his units with cover saves. The Kustom Force Field has no bearing on the other table/coalition. The Kustom Force Field WILL NOT affect any Tyranid or Eldar units in a Coalition since they are not considered Brothers in Arms.

Your Swarm Lord question is the same deal. For the purposes of the Team Tournament, 'Friendly Units' are defined as units originating from the exact same codex, so Acute Senses can only benefit other Tyranid units in a Coalition.

Also - keep in mind: Wargear and abilities that affect your Coalition's forces DO NOT stack. That is to say, if two Kustom Force fields are overlapping on the same table, the units under both would still only receive one cover save.
Real battles are fought in 6mm!
User avatar
Matthias
Techpriest
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Chicago, IL


Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron