Line shooting questions

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

Line shooting questions

Postby The Black Knight » Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:56 am

for powers like Imhoteks staff of the destroyer, jaws of world wolf, blood lance, etc that state in the rules to lay down a line in a specified direction and roll xd6 for distance... a roll to hit is first required just like any shooting attack, correct?
The Black Knight always triumphs.
The Black Knight
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:28 pm
Location: Appleton, WI

Postby seahawk » Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:12 pm

Nope. They have no target and cause automatic hits, so there's no need to roll to hit.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby Turtle » Thu Dec 22, 2011 3:02 pm

jaws needs a roll to hit,

wait no never mind it doesn't it was changed back to no longer need a roll to hit.

this has been flip flopping back and forth over the past year
"Here have a beer, Marines play better with beer: Rhysk
Turtle
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:38 pm
Location: just outside of mil-town

Postby Lord Krungharr » Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:54 pm

So what does that Jaws of the Wolf power do? Does every Unit touched by it disappear? Or every model? And what would it do to a superheavy or gargantuan creature?

And then what does Blood Lance do too?
User avatar
Lord Krungharr
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: Lehigh Acres, FL

Postby Turtle » Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:25 pm

the powers are in their respecive codex's
"Here have a beer, Marines play better with beer: Rhysk
Turtle
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:38 pm
Location: just outside of mil-town

Postby seahawk » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:16 pm

And as noted in the Apocalypse Rulebooks, Gargantuan Creatures/Super Heavies are not affected by Jaws of the World Wolf since it doesn't have a strength value.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby seahawk » Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:02 am

Some new FAQ answers:

Q: As Blood Lance is a psychic shooting attack, does it
need to roll To Hit? (p63)
A: No.

Q: Is Lash of Submission a Psychic Shooting Attack and
must it roll To Hit? (p88)
A: Yes to both questions. Note that if it misses, it will
have no effect.

Q: Does Mind Worm need to roll To Hit? (p39)
A: Yes

Q: Does Eldritch Storm need to roll To Hit? (p28)
A: Yes, though as it is a blast weapon, Eldritch Storm
will scatter.

Q: Does Mind War need to roll To Hit? (p28)
A: No

Q: Do you need to roll To Hit with Jaws of the World
Wolf? (p37)
A: No.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL


Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron