Combat squading and deep striking

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

Combat squading and deep striking

Postby tear of the angel » Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:01 pm

When do you split units that are combat squading when they are deep striking. Do you role for the squad, then deep strike them in two differnt locations, or do you role for them seperate then deploy them seprate, or role for the unit, place them, then combat squad them.
SEMPER FORTIS- ALWAYS COURAGEOUS
User avatar
tear of the angel
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:36 am
Location: quincy, IL

Postby DragonBait » Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:46 am

When you deploy them, so after you make 1 roll for reserves
"What's you're job?"
"Oh, I'm retired now. I invented dice when I was a kid."
DragonBait
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Southside Chi Burbs

Postby Crumpsky » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:46 am

I am pretty sure at the beginning of the game you need to state what squads are combat squadding. So before you even start actual play you will have 2 units coming from a 10 man squad that you would roll for individually.
Crumpsky
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 2:02 pm
Location: DG

Postby DragonBait » Mon Apr 18, 2011 2:26 pm

I dont have the codecies in front of me or the brb, but im 99% sure you have to declare reserves during deployment, but combat squads split when they are actually deployed. That is why you can combat squad when you disembark when you deploy out of a drop pod if you so choose
"What's you're job?"
"Oh, I'm retired now. I invented dice when I was a kid."
DragonBait
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Southside Chi Burbs

Postby tear of the angel » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:11 pm

You split them when they deploy. So thats where the question came from. Due to the fact that they aren't deployed till you are placing them, my understanding would be that you roll for them together.
SEMPER FORTIS- ALWAYS COURAGEOUS
User avatar
tear of the angel
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:36 am
Location: quincy, IL

Postby Cptn_Snuggles » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:14 pm

You roll together, then before deep striking (or coming on from the board edge, however you called it pregame) you combat squad it up.
User avatar
Cptn_Snuggles
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Bartlett, IL

Postby Crumpsky » Mon Apr 18, 2011 5:42 pm

Forgot you said d.eep striking. I should have read more carefully
Crumpsky
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 2:02 pm
Location: DG

Postby MaxeysPad » Mon May 02, 2011 10:08 pm

Cptn_Snuggles wrote:You roll together, then before deep striking (or coming on from the board edge, however you called it pregame) you combat squad it up.


Does this also work for "Grand Strategy"?
:At the start of the game before forces are deployed, the grand master can assign special battfield roles to Units under his command.

Also a Fluff question; Have Grey knights ever been corrupted by chaos?
MaxeysPad
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:40 pm

Postby seahawk » Tue May 03, 2011 6:28 pm

Yes, it'd also work for Grand Strategy as far as I can tell.

Fluff: Not a single Grey Knight has ever been corrupted, as stated in every codex and piece of fluff. How you've missed it, I don't know... :wink:
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby MaxeysPad » Tue May 03, 2011 7:04 pm

seahawk wrote:Yes, it'd also work for Grand Strategy as far as I can tell.

Fluff: Not a single Grey Knight has ever been corrupted, as stated in every codex and piece of fluff. How you've missed it, I don't know... :wink:

I never learned to read!
Image
MaxeysPad
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:40 pm


Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest