mephiston

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

Postby Redbeard » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:01 pm

You may only use the same power once/turn. Page 50, main rulebook. It's kind of hidden under the heading of psychic shooting attacks, but if you read it, it does say, "but still cannot use the same power twice in a turn".

The presence of the word 'still' implies that this restriction does not only apply to shooting attacks, but all psychic attacks.

If you're not playing at an event using the INAT, feel free to disregard it, they've gotten plenty of other things wrong in the past, that GW has ended up correcting.
"All very successful commanders are prima donnas and must be so treated."

George S. Patton
User avatar
Redbeard
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Homewood, IL

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:14 pm

While it's implied that other powers can't be used twice either, it doesn't actually say that. The "still" could also not be in reference to that so much as it could just be another caveat to using two psychic shooting attacks.

I'm going to guess that they failed at the copy/paste from 4th to 5th and left out the limitation for regular powers.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby Redbeard » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:31 pm

That's not grammatically sensible.

You don't say, "you can only use one psychic shooting attack, but may still only use the same power once/turn".

It's clearly a case where they omitted the initial prohibition, but the DID include a reference to it. That's still a rule, and it's still written there.
"All very successful commanders are prima donnas and must be so treated."

George S. Patton
User avatar
Redbeard
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Homewood, IL

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:40 pm

Only for psychic shooting attacks though.

It does make sense (a little reorganizing helps):

"Even if you can giggity, you can only googity once. However, if you're allowed two googities, you replace any googity with a giggity. Still, you cannot use the same giggity twice."

Here it's an additional rule only to psychic shooting attacks and nothing else.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby Redbeard » Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:53 pm

seahawk wrote:Only for psychic shooting attacks though.

It does make sense (a little reorganizing helps):

"Even if you can giggity, you can only googity once. However, if you're allowed two googities, you replace any googity with a giggity. Still, you cannot use the same giggity twice."

Here it's an additional rule only to psychic shooting attacks and nothing else.


I still don't follow how you get that. "Still, you cannot use the same giggity twice" - if a giggity is a psychic power, then that statement is pretty clear; you can't use the same one twice.

It doesn't say "still, you can't use the same psychic shooting attack twice" - it says you can't use a power twice. That's a pretty important distinction, I think.

Still, at adepticon it probably won't matter, as the INAT team seem to have screwed up again. But anywhere that's not using their document, I wouldn't allow an opponent to do this. It's clearly not RAI, and I'm fairly sure it's not RAW either.
"All very successful commanders are prima donnas and must be so treated."

George S. Patton
User avatar
Redbeard
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Homewood, IL

Previous

Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron