mephiston

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

mephiston

Postby tg787 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:13 pm

How many times per player turn can he cast his sword if it gets dispelled by a hood or runic weapon?
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby Crumpsky » Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:41 pm

I am pretty sure if it gets dispelled he cant cast it that turn anymore. And I believe he can only cast it once per turn.
Crumpsky
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 2:02 pm
Location: DG

Postby tg787 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:37 pm

Any one have a more official answer? Every BA player that I have played, tries to do it more then once.
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:51 pm

In the Psychic Shooting Power section it says you cannot use the same shooting power twice, but nowhere else in the psykers section does it talk about other powers' limitations. So, according to the rules any marine player (or others that can use more than one) can use the same power as many times as they are able (one, two or three, depending on the psyker) as long as it's not a psychic shooting attack.

Eldar, on the other hand, have their own limitation in their codex that disallows using the same power twice unless it's Eldrad.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby RAMSEY » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:03 pm

I'm a BA player and have never done that.

When you say "Every BA player that I have played, tries to do it more then once." is that per turn, per player turn,....

In the BA codex it says he can use all three of his powers in one turn. Page 47. Maybe this is what they are thinking. Still not the same attack over and over.

Page 63 BA codex says that the Sanguine Sword may be used at the start of either player's assault phase. Maybe this is whats happening.

Hope this helps.
"YOUR SUFFERING WILL BE LEGENDARY, EVEN IN HELL"
G.R.A.M.P.A. Member
No wait! That doesn't sound right.
RUMRUNNERS Gaming Group
Nephilim Jet Fighter…….. What’s it fighting?.... BALLOONS!
User avatar
RAMSEY
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Postby tg787 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:16 pm

Any one have a more official answer? Every BA player that I have played, tries to do it more then once.
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:19 pm

I gave you the official answer? Straight from the book no less.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby tg787 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:22 pm

Not sure why my first post duped. It usually goes something like this. They cast sword, deny. Then they cast it again. Etc. Etc. Still see some conflicting opinions on these posts. I always let them do it but I always wonder if its being played wrong or not.
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:27 pm

Oh...crazy duplication!

Yes, they are playing it correctly. 4th edition they had the limit to only using a given power once per turn no matter how many you could use, but in 5th that's only limited to psychic shooting attacks.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby 00Enron » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:28 pm

Taken from the INAT

PSYKERS (page 50)
RB.50C.01 – Q: Can a Psyker who is able to use more than one psychic power per turn use the same power more than once in a turn?
A: Unless specified otherwise, a psyker can only use any given psychic shooting attack once per turn [RAW]. There is however, no such general restriction on psychic powers that aren‟t shooting attacks [clarification].

There you go
Adepticon 2008-Best Appearance
G.R.A.M.P.A member
00Enron
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:37 am

Postby tg787 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:46 pm

perfect thanks, but still limited to 3 powers per game turn correct?
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby tg787 » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:46 pm

perfect thanks, but still limited to 3 powers per game turn correct?
tg787
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:47 pm

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:50 pm

Nope, just per player turn.
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Postby RAMSEY » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:44 pm

So does this mean that the BA player can attempt to use SS as many times as he wants untill it goes off?
"YOUR SUFFERING WILL BE LEGENDARY, EVEN IN HELL"
G.R.A.M.P.A. Member
No wait! That doesn't sound right.
RUMRUNNERS Gaming Group
Nephilim Jet Fighter…….. What’s it fighting?.... BALLOONS!
User avatar
RAMSEY
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Postby seahawk » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:56 pm

Of course, that's what I've been saying the whole time (well, it's limited by the number of powers the psyker can use)! It's also supported officially by the BRB and clarified by the INAT.

How much more do you need, man!?! :o 8)
"Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealously, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war, minus the shooting." - George Orwell
seahawk
 
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:36 am
Location: Sycamore, IL

Next

Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron