Deploying from reserves from a transport

Debate all the finer points of our fine hobby, or just 4, 5 or 6 it...

Deploying from reserves from a transport

Postby Stolorg » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:13 pm

Ok, so I know that if a unit is loaded in a transport and is in reserve the unit and the transport come in at the same (or on the same roll).

Also, I know that when a transport comes in, it's movement starts as if it's positioned just off the table edge.

Now, can the unit inside the transport disembark from the transport (which is sitting on the edge of the table), make it's move, and then have the transport roll onto the table from the position the troops disembarked from?

...Why not?
So a Necron, a Guardsman, and a Firewarrior walk into a space bar...
Stolorg
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:10 am
Location: Schaumburg, IL

Postby Redbeard » Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:05 am

No, models that are not on the table cannot perform actions without a special rule. So, while the transport would roll onto the table from just off the table, it's not able to do anything except move onto the table when it is there.

Also, on page 94, it specifies that the unit and the transport arrive together. As arriving is the movement onto the table, the only way to do this together, rather than separately, is to be embarked.
"All very successful commanders are prima donnas and must be so treated."

George S. Patton
User avatar
Redbeard
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:55 am
Location: Homewood, IL

Postby Stolorg » Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:50 pm

Hey- forgot I asked this and was about to ask again ;-) Thanks for getting back on it!
So a Necron, a Guardsman, and a Firewarrior walk into a space bar...
Stolorg
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 4:10 am
Location: Schaumburg, IL


Return to Rules Discussions (40K)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron